Telephone : 01327 351 466
Email :
Home | About NHPS | Governors


The Hawksmoor Learning Trust


Nicholas Hawksmoor Primary School is now part of The Hawksmoor Learning Trust. Please see the Trust's link on the main school webpage for more details on Trust Governance.


The Governing Body (Academy Trustees and Directors)

The Governing Body are appointed under the terms of Hawskmoor Learning Trust articles of association. The term of office for all governors, except the Headteacher, is 4 years.

Governors are responsible for setting general policy, adopting an annual plan and budget, monitoring the Academy, making major decisions about the direction of the school and senior staff appointments. The Governing Body are responsible for monitoring the performance of the children and the senior staff, and challenging the senior staff to continue to make excellent progress in all areas. The Governing Body are owners of the school building and grounds and are responsible for ensuring that they are kept in good order. The full Governing Body meets twice a term, and sub-committee meetings are held for Finance, Audit, Remuneration and Appointments.

The Governors have implemented a number of systems to assess risks, especially in the operational areas (e.g. teaching and learning, health, safety welfare and school trips) plus control of finance. They have introduced systems including operational procedures (e.g. vetting of new staff and visitors) and internal financial controls in order to minimise risk.

The Governors are currently concentrating on:

    • Maintaining the excellent academic, artistic and athletic standards at the school, as recognised by Ofsted, and seeking to improve these wherever possible.
    • Working in partnership with all Trust schools to provide a safe and encouraging environment where both staff and pupils can achieve their best
    • Extending community use of the buildings and resources.
    • Working more closely with our Trust partner Sponne School.

Governors at Nicholas Hawksmoor

Andrea Curtis

Executive Principal and Accounting Officer

Member of Academy Trust

Karen Falvey

Chair of Academy Trust

Local Governor

Damian Reynolds

Chair of Governors

Vice-chair of THLT

Eleanor Barton

Vice-chair of Governors

Parent Governor

Christopher Lofts

Safeguarding Governor

Trustee of THLT

Chris Nikel

Local Governor

Trustee of THLT

Neil Patterson

Local Governor

Trustee of THLT

David Marchini

Local Governor

Trustee of THLT

Joerdis Laureyns Parent Governor
John Allen Parent Governor
Daniel Halsey Parent Governor
Ashish Gupta Parent Governor
Jeremy Weeks Parent Governor
Dan Murphy Parent Governor
Jessica Kirschel Parent Governor
Rebecca Prestland Parent Governor

Staff Governors

Joseph Fulford Deputy Headteacher
Dan Cox Assistant Headteacher

Company Secretary and Clerk to Governors

Jonathan Davis Company Secretary